Installing new softwares in linux

Now i had to install apache, mysql and php in linux, for my project work indeed.

I just created a new directory to store all the rpm files from my linux disc. I had to do so because I don’t know what are the dependent files required. Then I installed the createrepo by,
rpm -i createrepo-0.4.42.noarch.rpm

Then I created a repository of these files , by,
create repo /opt/softwares ( which is where I have kept all the rpm files )

Then we need to create a repo file.

Now we can see the list by
yum list

Now we can install the applications…

yum install httpd* ( for apache server )
yum install mysqld-server ( for mysql server )
yum install php* ( for php )

Leave a Reply

